(512) 657-3790 Call NOW!
In the City of Belton Texas, driving while intoxicated (DWI) means drunk driving, and the state uses your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) to determine whether you're too intoxicated to operate a motor vehicle. If stopped by a Police Officer in Belton, Texas and it is determined that you are driving under the influence of any intoxicating substance you will be asked to perform a physical and breath sobriety test. If you refuse to take or fail these tests you will be arrested and taken to Bell County Jail. On predetermined weekends law enforcement implements the "No Refusal Weekend." If you are taken to jail and have refused to submit a breathalyzer test, a warrant will be issued for your blood to be drawn. Also, refusing these tests can result in your license being suspended at the time of arrest for 180 days.
Below are the state's BAC limits: - 21 years old or older: 0.08% - Commercial drivers: 0.04% - Younger than 21 years old: Any detectable amount. Alcohol can affect you based on the number of drinks you’ve had, your body weight, and even your gender. Check out the TX blood alcohol percentage charts to learn more.
TX DWI penalties are based on factors like age, license type, and other circumstances (such as having other passengers in the vehicle, or horrific events like death). Common DWI penalties you can expect include: - Fines and surcharges (also tack on court costs and lawyer fees). - License suspension or revocation. - Community service. - Imprisonment (even for a first offense). - DWI education and intervention programs.